They were on Omaha Beach

"They were on Omaha Beach, 213 eyewitnesses by Laurent Lefebvre" looks at the invasion of Omaha Beach through both local and veterans testimonies. It follows the invasion minute by minute, told by those who were there, living through the chaos.

Discover this book...

      Home Contact us

6th Airborne Division

D-Day - Order of battle

Commander: Major General Richard Nelson Gale

Richard N. Gale

James Hill

Alastair S. Pearson

Terence Otway

George Smith

Allen Parry

George Bradbrooke

Nigel Poett

Geoffrey Pine-Coffin

Peter Luard

John Howard


Aide de Camp: Captain Tom Haughton
GSO-1 (OPS): Lt. Colonel Bobby Bray
GSO-1 (AIR): Lt. Colonel Bill Bradish
GSO-2 (OPS): Major David Baird
GSO-2 (Intelligence): Major Gerry Lacoste
GSO-3 (OPS): Captain M. R. Spurling
GSO-3 (AIR): Captain Nick Pratt
GSO-3 (Intelligence): Captain J. H. Max
GSO-3 (CW): Captain W. D. Burton
Royal Army Chaplain: Lt. Colonel J. C. Hales
Royal Artillery: Lt. Colonel Jack Norris
Royal Engineers: Lt. Colonel J. C. Hamilton
Royal Electrical & Mechnalical Engineers: Lt. Colonel Raymond V. Powditch
Royal Army Medical Corps: Colonel M. Mac Ewan
Royal Army Ordnance Corps: Lt. Colonel J. L. Watson
Royal Army Service Corps: L. Colonel J. Lovegrove
6th Airborne Division Signals: Lt. Colonel D. Smallman-Tew
  3rd Parachute Brigade: Brigadier Stanley James Ledger Hill
    8th (Midland Counties) Parachute Battalion: Lt. Colonel Alastair Stevenson Pearson
      Hq & Support Company: Major G. Payne
      A Company: Major S. Terrell
      B Company: Major A. J. Wilson
      C Company: Major G. Hewetson
    9th (Home Counties) Parachute Battalion: Lt. Colonel Terence Brandram Otway
      Hq Company: Major George Smith
      A Company: Major Allen Parry
      B Company: Major Harold Bestley
      C Company: Major Ian Dyer
    1st Canadian Parachute Battalion: Lt. Colonel George Bradbrooke
      Hq Company: Major E. T. Munro
      A Company: Major D. J. Wilkins
      B Company: Major C. E. Fuller
      C Company: Major Murray McLeod (KIA 6 June 44)
    3rd Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery, RA: Major Nick Cranmer
    3rd Parachute Squadron, RE: Major Tim Roseveare
    224th Parachute Field Ambulance, RAMC
  5th Parachute Brigade: Brigadier Joseph Howard Nigel Poett
    7th (Light Infantry) Parachute Battalion : Lt. Colonel Richard Geoffrey Pine-Coffin
      Hq Company: Major Tullis
      A Company: Major Nigel Taylor
      B Company: Major Roger Neale
      C Company: Major R. J. Bartlett
    12th Parachute Battalion: Lt. Colonel Johnny Anthony Johnson (KIA 12 June 44)
      Hq Company: Major D. Mayfield
      A Company: Major Gerald Ritchie
      B Company: Major Harold Rogers
      C Company: Major Clarence W. Stephens
    13th Parachute Battalion: Lt. Colonel Peter Luard
      Hq Company: Major Reggie M. Tarrant
      A Company: Major John F. Cramphorn
      B Company: Major George W. Bristow
      C Company: Major Gerald H. D. Ford
    4th Airlanding Anti-Tank Battery, RA: Major Peter Dixon
    591st Parachute Squadron, RE: Major Andy Wood
    225th Parachute Field Ambulance, RAMC: Lt. Colonel Bruce Harvey
  6th Airlanding Brigade: Brigadier Hugh Kenyon Molesworth Kindersley (WIA 12 June 44)
    1st Battalion The Royal Ulster Rifles: Lt. Colonel Jack Carson
      Support Company: Major Ronnie Wilson
      A Company: Major Charles E. Vickery
      B Company: Major Gerald P. Rickcord
      C Company: Major Bob Hynds
      D Company: Major Tony Dyball
    2nd Battalion The Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire Light Inf.: Lt. Colonel Michael Roberts
      Support Company: Major E. V. Favell
      Hq Company: Major S. J. Heath-Smith
      A Company: Major Gilbert Rahr
      B Company: Major J. S. R. Edmunds
      C Company: Major Johnny Granville
      D Company: Major John Howard
    12th Battalion The Devonshire Regiment: Lt. Colonel Dick Stevens
      Support Company: Major Eddie Warren
      A Company: Major J. Roger
      B Company:
      C Company:
      D Company: Major John Bampfylde
    249th (Airborne) Field Company, RE: Major Sandy Rutherford
      No.1 Platoon: Captain Hirst
      No.2 Platoon: Captain Jock Neilson
      No.1 Platoon: Captain Smeardon
    195th Airlanding Field Ambulance, RAMC: Lt. Colonel William Aurice Anderson
  Royal Army Service Corps: Lt. Colonel J. Lovegrove
    63rd Airborne Composite Company: Major A. C. Billetop
    398th Airborne Composite Company: Major M. E. Phipps
    716th Airborne Composite Company: Major A. Jones:
  22nd Independent Parachute Company : Major Francis Gordon Lennox-Boyd
  Glider Pilot Regiment: Brigadier George Chatterton
    1st Wing: Lt. Colonel Ian A. Murray
    2nd Wing: Lt. Colonel John Place